Skip to page contents

Skip to Navigation


Laura E. Settle Scholarship Foundation
Continues Commitment to Education

CalRTA members continue to support their profession even after they have left “active duty.” The Laura E. Settle Scholarship Foundation is a prime example of this continuing commitment. Over the years, the Foundation has bestowed millions of dollars in scholarships to California’s future teachers.

Get Involved

Today, with the state of California facing a looming teacher shortage, supporting students who are working hard toward careers as school teachers is even more important.

Established more than a half-century ago, the LES Foundation is funded primarily through contributions and bequests from CalRTA members.

How the Scholarships Are Awarded

The program is administered through the financial aid offices of 30 participating University of California and California State University campuses. Scholarships are awarded to students in their junior, senior or graduate years in an accredited teaching program. The LES Foundation provides $3,000 scholarships to 30 colleges annually. Another 13 $500 grants from the affiliated Outler fund are also awarded to teachers who plan on working in elementary schools.

The foundation was established in the early 1950s in memory of CalRTA’s primary founder and first president. Laura E. Settle, a retired Pasadena school teacher, oversaw the creation of CalRTA in 1929 and established its reputation as the primary protector of teachers’ pensions.

On July 1, 2003, after a vote of the CalRTA membership, the Foundation was established as a 501(c)(3) corporation so that contributions to the non-profit Foundation would be fully tax deductible as a charitable donation. The Foundation continues to be a fully owned subsidiary of CalRTA but it has its own Board of Directors, Bylaws and Standing Rules.

Current LES Foundation officers are:
Chairman: William Kipp
Directors: Roberta Cendejas, Adele Embry, John Gera, Carol Kalamaras, Georgianna Light, Peter Paolino
Ex-Officio: Angelique Hill, CalRTA Executive Director